School of Choice


                     School of Choice

There have been questions asked about School of Choice, so here is some information to shed more light on this important subject:

There is an application process for School of Choice students.  Students who have been suspended at any time over the last two years are not admitted.  I monitor data like School of Choice students’ GPA’s  and discipline data.  Our School of Choice students have very similar GPA’s as Wyandotte resident students and have fewer discipline referrals.  The perception the School of Choice students “bring us down” is simply not true.

In preparation for the next school year, I look at projected enrollment numbers as well as our available space.  I make a recommendation to the Board of Education and they make the final decision regarding School of Choice.  Right now, our School of Choice students encompass 29% of the student body.  We will start planning in January, 2019 for the 2019-20 school year.

Why do we take outside students?  The answer is it provides more opportunities for all of our students.  With more students, we can offer more electives at the high school and middle school.       It also means a wider range of specials for our elementary students.  This also makes us financially stable as we receive $7 million in revenue each year for having our School of Choice students.  If we were to close our doors tomorrow to School of Choice students, it would mean laying off about 25% of our staff and closing an elementary school, which would pose other challenges to us. 

What is important to me is we find the right balance, so we don’t end up with too many or too few School of Choice students.  Right now, School of Choice students serve our community well and I want that to continue for the years to come.

Since 1994, Wyandotte Public Schools has elected to be a District of Choice.  Participation allows
nonresident students, not living in the City of Wyandotte, residing within Wayne County to apply for School of Choice.

The School of Choice application process typically begins when the Wyandotte School Board votes on a resolution to approve Choice for the following school year.  Shortly thereafter, applications are taken.  Parents/guardians will be notified of approval or denial within 15 calendar days of application submission.  2018-2019 School of Choice must be approved by the Board of Education prior to Applications being made available.  When School of Choice has been approved, applications will be available at the following locations:

  • Wyandotte Board of Education - 639 Oak Street
  • Online at
  • Garfield Elementary School, 340 Superior Blvd.
  • Jefferson Elementary School, 1515 - 15th Street
  • Monroe Elementary School, 1501 Grove Street
  • Washington Elementary School, 1440 Superior Blvd.
  • Wilson Middle School - 1275 - 15th Street
  • Roosevelt High School - 540 Eureka Road

If you require additional information, please contact Amanda Young, Pupil Accounting, at (734) 759-6014 or by email at

School of Choice is closed for the 1st Semester of the 2018/2019 School Year.

Board of Education 639 Oak Street Wyandotte, MI 48192 734-759-6002
Copyright © 2019 Powered by Foxbright
Download the latest PDF Viewer